One of my favorite hymns is Wesley’s O For A Thousand Tongues To Sing.  The Hymn was written a year after his conversion, it contains his testimony of faith.  My favorite verse is this:

He breaks the power of cancelled sin,
He sets the prisoner free;
His blood can make the foulest clean,
His blood availed for me.

But I have often wondered how sin that has been cancelled can have any real power at all.  But then I remember, I remember the times growing up where I had done something wrong. I was afraid of facing the consequences to my actions and so would try to hide what I had done, what remains hidden surely cannot be exposed, right?  The problem though is that I knew whatever it was at the time was there.  I had never been able to hide my faults from myself, so even though I had gotten away with the crime it would still hold me prisoner in some ways.

We often give power to powerless things.

John 3 contains some of the most known words of the scripture found in verse 16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him may not perish but may have eternal life”.  We quote those words often, but we forget to move on to the rest of the verses in that chapter and they contain within them a painful truth. That is that there is judgement in this beloved chapter.

There are those who face condemnation, but it is not Jesus who condemns them.  Rather it is their deeds, they refuse to step out into the light for fear of being exposed.  We don’t want the light of Jesus to expose who we really are, you know when no one is looking.  Yet, there is an invitation to walk in the light and so we must choose.

Yes, we will be exposed; but we will also be restored facing no condemnation because in walking in the light we will learn to walk rightly with him who is lifted up.

